Accidental Sorghum (Whole30 Day 5/Day 6)

Did you know sorghum was a grain?

It is.

This fact dawned on me as I was falling asleep, a full 4 hours after I added 1/2 cup sorghum flour to our delicious veggie burgers.

You see, in gluten-free baking, sorghum is sort of a holy grail flour. Gluten-Free Girl says its the gf flour most akin to wheat flour, so it works great in all sorts of baked goods. I have been used to using sorghum as a go-to flour whenever a recipe doesn’t specify a particular type of alternative to use.

The particular recipe I was using last night was this one: Super Healthy Veggie Burgers. It is supposed to be a grain-free burger, but I obviously sabotaged that bit. It says to use 1/2 c almond flour and 1/2 c any other ground nut/seed. I used the 1/2 c almond and 1/2 c hazelnut, but I was increasing the recipe by 1.5, so I needed to add one more 1/2 c. Naturally, I reached for the sorghum.

And there you have it. Accidental sorghum.

I’m not sure why it didn’t dawn on me that sorghum could possibly be off limits, but the thought didn’t even come close to crossing my mind. The mistake is even funnier considering that, while we were cooking, Tom and I were talking about how we both had a humorous fear that we were going to accidentally eat something we weren’t supposed to.

Well, it happened, and we managed to survive.

I haven’t told Tom about the mistake yet. It’ll be interesting to see if he’s noticed feeling any different today. I, for one, definitely had some not-nice feelings in my belly this morning. But sometimes it’s hard to tell what that’s coming from – it could just be from the inordinate amount of veggies, and thus fiber, we’ve been consuming. For now, we’re feeding the leftover veggie burgers to Ada and hoping for the best!

Other than that goof up, the past 2 days have been great. Tom and I have both experience a reduction in cravings and haven’t been finding it so hard to get through the day. One thing that has helped is our realization that we should be eating HUGE meals. Whole30 doesn’t recommend snacking (something I obviously was unaware of on Day 3). Instead, they recommend eating pretty large portions of food at each meal – 1-2 palm-sized portions of protein, a whole bunch of veg, a thumb-sized portion of oil/butter, plus some seeds/nuts or avocado. This includes breakfast – hence our turkey burger + egg breakfasts.

The sugar-crazed madness I was in on Day 3 has also definitely waned. On Day 4, I had an apple with my breakfast, and didn’t even finish it. Today and yesterday, I had breakfast without any carbs at all. I think this has been pretty helpful in setting me up for a successful food day both days. Afternoons have also been fine. While I am still incorporating 1 snack most afternoons, I am making sure it follows the Whole30 meal template – i.e., mostly protein.

Here’s a recap of the last two days and what I’ve had so far today:

Day 5

breakfast – turkey burger, egg, cooked kale with seeds, sesame oil, avocado, coconut flakes

lunch – sweet potato w/walnuts and pumpkin seeds and ghee, onions, peppers, mushrooms, chicken drumstick, 1 piece bacon. Small serving chia with granola.

(no snack b/c I was going to yoga)

dinner – coconut crusted chicken, peas, cauliflower rice, avocado sauce

 

Day 6

breakfast – 2 eggs, kale, chia with granola

lunch – coconut crusted chicken, cauliflower rice, sweet potato and onion, 1/2 an avocado

snack – 1/2 banana, 4 strawberries, coconut milk, coconut flakes, cinnamon – very decadent! and verging on too much of a treat to be Whole30 compliant…but o well.

dinner – veggie burgers, ratatouille

 

 

Day 7

breakfast – chia with granola, cooked kale with 2 eggs

lunch – chia with 1/2 a banana and granola, turkey burger, 1 egg, 1 piece bacon, 1/2 an avocado, steamed asparagus

 

Tom and I are leaving in a few hours to fly to Toledo, OH for a memorial service for my grandmother who passed away at age 91 last December. We are packing some food with us, but it will be interesting to see how Whole30 on the road goes! Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

